Delayed Gratification

February 21, 2010 at 9:41 am (Family, Farming, Films, God, Gorgeous Writing, Rant)

To truly understand the significance of the picture to the left, you would have to have experienced my downstairs bathroom as it has been for the past 20 years. I wish I had a picture. The old bathroom had a barf-pink tub and toilet and an ersatz vanity/sink. The floor was two layers of crumbling linoleum, half of which was peeled off and half of which was kind of barely nailed on. I insisted on a plumbing upgrade when the pipes got so bad I was literally showering with a hose in the milkhouse in the barn, hiding behind the bulk tank and hoping to heck the milktruck didn’t pull in. My very pregnant and naked self was not a pretty site. Demi Moore I ain’t. During one Thanksgiving, we made our respective parents pee in the lawn because the septic was so bad. My mom was much in fear of the rooster that was poking about.

We made do with this bathroom until Youngest was born in 1997, when we put a brand new bathroom in upstairs (we didn’t have an upstairs bathroom for the first 7 years, and by pregnancy number three, I was darn tired of waddling down the stairs in the middle of the night). So since 1997, we have had a nice bathroom on the second floor, and we tolerated the pink pit on the first floor. It served its purpose for toilet, brushing or gelling (Middle son) hair, washing the dog. We rarely (read “never”) had guests, and we bumpkins didn’t care where we relieved ourselves. Then the toilet broke, and it would only flush intermittently. AND we have hard water, and calcium and rust accumulate on the inside of the toilet and hold on to the … whatever else is put in there, if you catch my meaning. So it became useless to clean it, and things became worse.

Remember the scene in Slumdog Millionaire when Jamal is in the outhouse and the movie star is arriving? That is not too far off from my bathroom of the past two years. So last spring, in a fit of Spring Fever, Andy and I tore everything out: the cast iron tub had to be smashed to smithereens (lots of fun, actually). I was in charge of ripping off the lovely faux-marble laminate walls and the plaster and lath. We left the sink and the toilet in place, but then the milk price bottomed out and we had to put it all on hold.

So for a year we had a very scary space right off the kitchen, kind of like those communal bathrooms in tenements in movies? You think I am kidding but I am not.

But just after Christmas Andy stumbled upon a fabulous deal on flooring so he bought it. And then our neighborhood ace handyman hurt his back and couldn’t work, but he could do some stuff for us. So way-hay and away we go! Suddenly beaded board was going up and toilets were flying and flooring was going down and all of a sudden I have a pretty bathroom. Twenty years is a long time to wait, and it makes the one-year wait on doing this

seem like child’s play. I bought this switchplate in Durham, North Carolina, at Vaguely Reminiscent in April of 2009. I was spending the day with a fabulous bunch of people I had met online and we were all about to go and see Haven Kimmel and Augusten Burroughs. I bought the switchplate saying to myself, “This is the way I want that bathroom to feel.” One year – 20 years – later, I finally screwed it into place. It will remind me daily of that magical trip. But screwing that little thing of beauty to the wall got me thinking.

I don’t know if this is an Asperger’s thing or a first-generation farmers thing, but Andy and I got very used to delaying gratification in the early days. Any entrepreneur will tell you that if you want to succeed in business, you have to suffer through the early years when all the money you make gets shoveled back into the business, and you cross your fingers that some day the business takes off and makes it all worth it. Andy and I were so good at delayed gratification, that we usually just skipped the gratification part. We just went without, went without, went without, one-month splurge when the milk price was high, and then back to went without, went without.

The year 2008 was a record-high milk price year, and the money was a’sloshin’ around like crazy! Andy bought a boat, and the family got a pool. We got a little used to buying a little treat or a little toy or whatever. I confess to over-spending on Amazon Used Books, and Andy overspent on fishing gear. But then the Bush era finally took its toll and the country plunged into a recession.

If the dairy industry is any indication of what is happening in the economy at large, the prospects for recovery are looking grim. Over the past 15 years, the large farms have adopted sexed semen (meaning they have 90% heifer calves) and expansion and anything else that made them personally more profitable, with the result that the national herd is huge and growing, there is more milk on the market than the recessed economy can absorb, and as any economist will tell you, oversupply and shrunken demand equals low prices.

For the big dairies where large volume means that even a small profit margin keeps you in business, this is fine. For us small to medium-sized dairies, a small – or non-existent – profit margin means borrowing to stay afloat and watching years worth of growing sweat equity start to slow to a halt.

Andy (who has THREE Bachelors degrees, one of which is in Economic Theory) and I (who have learned all I know about Economics because I have to teach it) have been talking a lot about the shift that seems to be going on right now. From my perspective in public education, I have seen the past twenty years devoted to preparing America’s graduates to go to college, teaching them critical thinking and theory analysis. When I graduated high school in 1984, that worked. You got yourself a four-year degree, and everyone opened their arms to usher your brainy self in the door. Ask Michael Lewis. Ask Melanie Griffith. If you could think, you were welcome to come on in and help America’s growing companies make some money.

But Andy and I are both feeling like the years of graduating from college and easily attaching yourself to the corporate teat are at an end. First of all, many of those Jamals made it through the latrine, got themselves an education, and will now do what American graduates do better and for one-quarter the salary – and be happy about it! Most American graduates (self included) are so dependent on adhering to big companies or agencies like barnacles that they couldn’t start their own business if you gave them the money to do it. And with money being funneled to keep the economic Titanics afloat, no money is currently available for entrepreneurs wanting to do their own thing, where keeping your job is your OWN responsibility. Besides, what upstart rowboat can compete with the Titanic, even if it is bailing water?

The really frightening thought is that the economy we have known and enjoyed for the past twenty years might be dying away. The economic model we have embraced, enjoyed, and are now trying to save might not be savable.

This hit me pretty hard this past Friday. We had been struggling along between milkchecks until Friday when the milkcheck finally arrived. I breathed a sigh of relief and immediately went out and bought myself swim goggles, fancy soap, a video game for Youngest, and was heading toward Lowe’s to get the medicine cabinet for the new bathroom when I stopped myself. What happened to delayed gratification? Yeah, we had money again, but truly, it was all spoken for already. Had I truly gotten so used to gratifying my desires that I couldn’t wait for my own paycheck a week later to get the bathroom decorations? Maybe, in fact, I might need to wait a month – or even two – to get those pretty baskets and that laundry hamper and that shiny towel rack. Maybe I couldn’t get them at all. And in truth, Jamal would be happy with just having the darn toilet that was already sitting at home.

I fear some serious belt-tightening is going to be called for, and I know that lots of Americans have already had to do it. Part of what Andy and I are feeling is that by the age of 50 (or 43), it shouldn’t be a big deal to buy a cappuccino; we have truly worked our asses off to get where we have gotten with the farm, much harder than our peers who did pursue the big and stable salary. Shouldn’t we be able to buy at least a couple of luxuries in our middle age? Ask the middle-aged folks in Guatemala or the slums of Mumbai.

Could it be that delayed gratification – or no gratification – is going to be necessary in America? And what about the concept of the majority of Americans returning to physical or manual labor? Perhaps the economy is now calling for us all to actually produce something as opposed to spin it, analyze it, market it, train it, teach it, think it, televise it, or turn it into a video game.

As usual, through pure grace, I am currently teaching The Grapes of Wrath in my class. Andy used to joke that America needed another depression to get Americans’ heads out of their butts. Maybe then we WOULD get some Americans who would work as hard as Hispanic workers.

And now the joke is on us. We had lived like the Joads for years as we had started the farm, and like the Joads, we assumed that if we worked hard enough, we could at least have that pretty little white house in the orange grove. But unless everyone on the planet can have the pretty white house, it’s not going to happen. People living in cardboard boxes are going to take the jobs and be happy to upgrade to corrugated metal. And those who want to live in a Pottery Barn advertisement might find themselves replaced by someone who wants the job worse.

I am looking down right now at a Pottery Barn rug, one that I finally purchased after 18 years and with great guilt and trepidation. Maybe it’s the last one I’ll ever buy. And you know what? I have a roof over my head, more flesh on my body than I need, a job that I don’t think is going away, and healthy kids.

This was real:

And so is this:

And so I should consider this to be as much or more than I deserve in this lifetime. I used to think I would have been quite the survivor had I lived through the Great Depression. It might be that I’ll be finding out whether that is true.


5 Comments

  1. Sher said,

    Maureen – this is so stunning and I feel you are dead-on on your analysis of the American ‘instant gratification’. Even though we started our married life with 2 professional jobs and gorgeous 5 bedroom house . .. we had no furniture in it – we went from individual 1 bedroom apartments (with the requisite hand me down furniture) to an empty, but beautiful house . . . we saved for each purchase . .. I was so excited when we got a table and 6 chairs for the kitchen and we paid cash. It was another year before we paid cash for a gorgeous bedroom set bought from Highpoint Wholesale factory . . . and that is how it took us 19 years to have a house. Now I buy everything I can at consignment furniture and thrift stores . . . we have never had a SPRINTZ truck in our driveway.

    There is a lot to be said for honor adn integrity and paying for what you have. In my area we have HUMMER driving, 2 fisted cell phone, latte carrying domestic goddesses that can’t even pay for McDonald’s unless it takes a credit card. Wow! That makes me really enjoy my dented old Sienna (which is PAID for) and my new GOODWILL sweatshirt even more.

    I agree – this recession is a wake-up call.

    I think you are one of the richest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. It is your true valuing of life that I admire.

    And, Mo, that is the most beautiful bathroom I have ever seen. The color of paint and the exquisite lightswitch . . . I am so proud of you. So proud.

  2. mlouhutson said,

    Maureen, this is very insightful and well-written, like everything you put on your blog. I am very afraid that the economic bargain we have grown up with and expected to last forever, is over.

    My parents were children in the Depression, and definitely did not forget those experiences. They were incredible savers. We have been very fortunate that they always lived well within their means and provided well for their retirement. My dad is 86 with Alzheimers. He would be horrified if he realized how much his care costs now, but he planned well for this possibility, and he is not a burden to anyone.

    My husband’s parents are younger, and his dad had a very good job at Amoco. They got transferred every few years, but their family lived the good corporate life. Of our generation in his family (4 kids), not one of them has the job security that their dad enjoyed. Not one of them has a pension.

    Both of our families believed in the power of education to get ahead. But with our graduate degrees, our standard of living is no better (probably worse overall) than his parents’ generation had with a bachelor’s degree.

    I think that the world powers of the next 50 years will not be American or European, but Chinese and Indian. We have a chance to compete with the rest of the world on green technology and new power sources, but the rest of the world is just as well-educated as we are (in some ways better-educated), willing to work harder than we are, and able to compete at a much lower cost. It is not a pretty picture.

    Thanks for your post.

    –ML

  3. michaelwatsonvt said,

    Maureen,

    You deserve a latte.

    I come from a long line of farmers. (We finally got a bathroom in the family farm in the mid-sixties!) (I rather missed the outhouse, but loved the shower!.) Although I now garden as a necessary pass-time. And yes, we have too many degrees for our income!

    My wife works on projects in Bangladesh and India (http://jenniekristel.wordpress.com/). You might like her photos and discussion of her work there. your thoughts about consumption and delayed gratification. You are correct that wealth is relative. We have watched our standard of living declining, relative to that of our parents’ (The Depression was horrid for my parents. Things got better thereafter.) Yet both of us have worked on projects in third world countries and know about desperation.

    Farmers here have been very hard hit by declining milk prices. We are losing many farms, although there appears to be some hope on the horizon. I can remember when small farms made money, even if someone had to work in town so there was money for clothes and doctors. We do what we can to help. We become enraged when we hear politicians and others insisting everyone should be only watch out for themselves. (Oh well, we are tribal people.)

    By the way, your blog is spectacular.

  4. thegirlfromtheghetto said,

    Married over three and a half years before we bought a single thing new for this house, and even then it was to replace a 40 year old furnace. Instant gratification will never find a friend in me!

  5. Kristina said,

    I really enjoy your blog very much. it is well written and engrossingly interesting.
    just one nitpick: re: “the Bush era finally took its toll and the country plunged into a recession.”
    it is my understanding that the good economic times during Clinton were due to his predecessors’ thoughtful choices, including the Senior Bush. However, the hard economic times now can attributed to Clinton (at least in part).

    I reiterate, though I really enjoy your blog very much. it is well written and engrossingly interesting.

Leave a comment