THIS is Spring

May 5, 2009 at 8:15 pm (Farming)

By the first week of May there is enough fresh pasture to let the cows out of the barn. They have been inside (cozy, warm, well-fed, and protected from the elements) since the previous November. By May 1 the cows can smell the grass growing and they start to look out the windows hopefully. All Andy has to do is walk through the barn saying “What good girls are going OUT today?” and the older cows all start to bellow and trumpet. They know what’s coming. At the end is my favorite cow: Jill.

13 Comments

  1. Amber said,

    I, like Molly, have only seen cows STAND. And stand some more. And I can’t say that the cows I know even look like your cows. How very very cool.

    Thank you for the video Maureen. It did make me happy.

  2. Sher said,

    truly, truly amazing. and the kate bush song is PERFECTO . . .

    Claire wants to know if you can ‘ride the cows’ and she wants to come to the farm tomorrow!

  3. Linda said,

    That was so great to see! Happy cows. Oh, spring is here and the cows are happy. All is well in the world. 🙂

  4. Molly said,

    THIS MADE ME HAPPY!!!! THEY ARE SO CUTE!

    Thank you, Maureen!!!!

  5. Amy in Ohio said,

    So very happy am I right now. I love to see animals well treated and content.
    Love to you and Andy for making sure that these beautiful creatures are shown respect.

  6. Brendaquinkydink said,

    I called Dana in to watch this with me…I can’t believe the udders on these girls…wow…Dana commented that being a dairy farmer is “a horrible life, you have to be with those cows 4 or 5 times a day!!” like that’s a bad thing?

  7. Mary Lou said,

    This is great Maureen, thanks for sharing!!!

  8. Diane (Misch) said,

    Amused at myself for sitting watching cows on video and being amused by it!! 🙂 I’ve never seen cows frolic before!

  9. Maureen said,

    I am SO glad you all enjoyed this. Andy usually lets the cows out for the first time on a Monday when all three of our employees are available. And then I miss it because I am at school. This year I got to see it and it is SO amusing! By day three or four three are pretty matter-of-fact about the whole enterprise.

  10. George Stuteville said,

    Mo:

    I checked out your video this morning and my whole day may the better for having seen it…those cows were giddy…they were joyous and light and dancing (as only a cow can) and head-butting! Oh, if I could cream my coffee from the milk of one of those freedom-drunk beauties, I wouldn’t need sugar now, would I?

    Thank you so much!

    What a gift.

  11. thegirlfromtheghetto said,

    Now, how cute are those cows, running like school kids to the playground. I think its so fun that you have animals in your life like this. i’m sure its terribly hard work, but still fun.

  12. Ann Stahl said,

    I’ve never seen cows butt heads like that. Your
    favorite likes you too. Spring does make one
    friskie. Today I am in Scottsdale AZ. We played
    tennis early, soon to play golf. I’ts 100 degrees
    in the shade. Your grass looks very cool and
    inviting.

  13. Kate said,

    Today in a shop in Encinitas, CA, I made Erin the Irish lass find this video on her Iphone. Alas (excuse the pun!), the video would not play on the phone. Erin – may you and everyone following the path to new green pastures jump about in freedom.

Leave a Reply

